Dear Families,

Happy Friday! This will be my last update of 2023. This was a wonderful week of writing celebrations, field trips, and community building activities. We also said goodbye to some of our newer students who will be leaving CWS later this month – we are grateful to have known them and they will always remain a special part of our CWS family. 

January is a big month at CWS with our annual MLK “Honors the Dream” Celebration. This will happen over two evenings this year in the CWS auditorium. Classes will sing songs and act out skits that honor the memory of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Teachers will be sending more details home as they are confirmed.

Mark your calendars:

  • Monday, December 25 – Monday, January 1 – No School (School resumes Tuesday, January 2)
  • Thursday, January 11 – Special performance by Amos Gabia & Ekome Feemo, courtesy of Third Street Music School at 9:30am
  • Thursday, January 18 at 5:30pm – Honoring the Dream: Suma, Elyssa & Kimberly, Davon, Ally & Shelby, Molly & Ava, Scott, Chairin
  • Thursday, January 25 at 5:30pm – Honoring the Dream: Helen, Kiara, Jess & Louise, Susan & Jeanette, Jeff, Miriam, Taylor & Gabby, Carlos & Ashita
  • Wednesday, January 31 – Half-Day professional development, all students are dismissed at 11:30am
  • Friday, February 2 – Make-up and sibling photo day, advanced sign up required here
  • Monday, February 19 – Friday, February 23 – No School, Mid-Winter Break

We also sent home a rapid COVID-19 test kit with all students today. We encourage families to test their students on January 1 and 2 before returning to school. 

Wishing you and your family a relaxing and restorative break. 

Warmly,
Maria