Dear Families,

This was a busy week for our school! Many wonderful field trips with more coming next week. On Tuesday we hosted a meeting for all of the District 1 Principals and were joined by NYC Schools Chancellor David Banks and District Superintendent Carry Chan. A few of our students shared their experiences with our social studies-based curriculum and our hydroponics lab with our guests. And thank you to Susan and Jeanette’s and Miriam’s classes for presenting at community meeting this morning.

As a reminder, there is no school on Monday, May 27 for Memorial Day. Next Sunday, June 2 the PTA will host the Arts and Science Fair from 11am to 3pm at school. I hope you will join us for this fun day!

On Tuesday, May 28 our fifth graders will leave for Washington, DC – don’t forget, you must arrive by 6:15am, the bus will not wait!

On Thursday, June 6, there is no school. The DOE has requested that all NYC schools try a “stress test” of the online system to try to avoid the system crash that occurred during our remote day in February. This will involve students and teachers all logging in at a specific time on June 6. I will be sending out more details about that next week, but know that this is voluntary and won’t be a day of school or attendance. But if you are able to help us test the system by logging in, we would greatly appreciate it!

Mark your calendars:

  • Monday, May 27 – no school (Memorial Day)
  • Friday, May 31 – PTA and SLT officer elections at 8:45am
  • Sunday, June 2 – PTA’s Arts & Science Fair
  • Thursday, June 6 and Friday, June 7 – no school (clerical days for staff)
  • Thursday, June 6 – brief remote learning login trial
  • Friday, June 14 – Dress-up day (video game/movie character day)
  • Monday, June 17 – no school (Eid al-Adha)
  • Tuesday, June 18 – Fun Run and All-School Picnic
  • Wednesday, June 19 – no school (Juneteenth)
  • Friday, June 21 – Moving Up Ceremony for 5th Grade Students and Families (will be live-streamed)
  • Wednesday, June 26 – last day of school

With only 18 days left of school, let’s finish strong! Enjoy your long weekend.

Warmly,
Maria